Home > Sci-Fi > My Top 10 Sci-Fi Movies: #4 – Jurassic Park

My Top 10 Sci-Fi Movies: #4 – Jurassic Park

#4 – Jurassic Park (1993)

In a science fiction top 10 list, you knew there had to be a couple Spielberg movies in the mix. So now I’ve given you two in a row.

When I was in the 4th grade, I literally watched this movie every single day for about a month. The special effects were incredible (for the time) and they hold up pretty well today as well.

And of course, like every nerdy 4th grade kid, I was pretty into dinosaurs at the time. I think this movie was a major factor in my decision to study science in my future.

The pacing of the movie is perfect, the characters are real and interesting, and the story line actually made it seem plausible that dinosaurs could be genetically engineered.

And the metaphor of losing control of our creation is what I think gives this movie a timeless quality. Its a story that will always be relevant to our daily lives, and thats one of the reasons I think it resonates with a large audience.

“We’ve made living biological attractions so astounding that they’ll capture the imagination of the entire planet.”

 

Full List:

#10 – The Terminator (1984)

#9 – Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home (1986)

#8 – The Fifth Element (1997)

#7 – Aliens (1986)

#6 – Blade Runner (1982)

#5 – E.T. (1982)

#4 – Jurassic Park (1993)

#3 – V for Vendetta (2005)

#2 – Star Wars Trilogy (1977 – 1983)

#1 – Back to the Future (1985)

  1. February 24, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    Didn’t love V for Vendetta but it wasn’t bad. Other than that it’s a solid list of some really good sci flicks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment